Leadership Team


Professor Roshan das Nair

A clinical psychologist by training, he has overall responsibility for the running of the programme. He has supervised over 60 doctoral students to successful completion. His research focuses on the psychological and neuropsychological aspects of multiple sclerosis, stroke, and traumatic brain injury.  Visit Professor das Nair’s profile
Roshan das Nair smiling


The Director is supported by four Co-Directors, one at each university. The Co-Directors deputise for the Director in his absence.

Professor Dorothee Auer smiling at the camera

Professor Dorothee Auer

Professor of Neuroimaging and Head of the Division of Radiological & Imaging Sciences at the University of Nottingham and Honorary Consultant Neuroradiologist at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust.

Visit Professor Auer’s profile

Professor Matthew Broome smiling at the camera

Professor Matthew Broome

Academic psychiatrist and Director of the Institute for Mental Health at the University of Birmingham.  He is a leader in the field of early psychosis and in the philosophy and ethics of mental health.

Visit Professor Broome’s profile

Professor Noelle Robertson smiling

Professor Noelle Robertson

A registered Clinical and Health Psychologist, practising in the NHS as a consultant in a physical health speciality, in addition to my role as Programme Director for the Clinical Psychology Doctoral Training Course at the University of Leicester.

Visit Professor Robertson’s profile

Professor Swaran Singh smiling at the camera

Professor Swaran Singh

Professor of Social and Community Psychiatry at the University of Warwick and is an expert on early psychosis, somatisation, cultural and ethnic factors in mental illness, and mental health law.

Visit Professor Singh’s profile

Deputy Co-Directors

Dr Hayley Crawford smiling

Dr Hayley Crawford

Assistant Professor at University of Warwick

Visit Dr Crawford’s profile

Dr Joseph Manning MBE smiling at the camera

Dr Joseph Manning MBE

Associate Professor in Children, Young People and Families Nursing at University of Nottingham

Visit Dr Manning’s profile

Dr Patricia Lockwood smiling

Dr Patricia Lockwood

Senior Research Fellow at University of Birmingham Visit Dr Lockwood’s profile 
Dr Michelle O'Reilly smiling at the camera

Dr Michelle O’Reilly

Associate Professor of Communication in Mental Health at University of Leicester

Visit Dr O’Reilly’s profile

Director of Training and Wellbeing

Dr Musa Sami smiling at the camera

Dr Musa Sami

Dr Musa Sami is a Clinical Associate Professor in Adult Psychiatry at the University of Nottingham with a research focus on schizophrenia and the psychotic disorders. He has a particular interest in increasing clinical academic capacity across the Midlands.

The Director of Training and Wellbeing coordinates pastoral support, links with support services and Wellbeing Leads at the different universities, is the lead for Early Career Researcher (ECR) development, and coordinates and monitors scholars’ training.

Director of Equality, Diversity, Inclusion and Widening Participation (EDI&WP)

Ms Stacy Johnson delivering a speech

Ms Stacy Johnson MBE

Ms Johnson is an Associate Professor at the University of Nottingham a nurse by training, and has a wealth of experience in improving EDI in academic and healthcare settings. She is on the Chief Nursing Officer’s BAME Advisory Group.

The EDI&WP Director supports the DTP Executive in monitoring and analysing EDI data, offering sector-wide best practice guidance to improve EDI culture; supports scholars’ WP activities, and is responsible for ensuring the implementation of the EDI, bullying and harassment policy.

Visit Ms Johnson’s profile

Patient and Public Involvement (PPI) Coordinators

The PPI coordinators provide training for PPI members, coordinate PPI across the various projects, and manage the PPI newsletter and database.

Ms Kate Horton smiling at the camera

Kate Horton

PPI Lead

Visit Kate’s profile

Mr Niyah Campbell smiling at the camera

Niyah Campbell

Youth Advisory Group Lead

Visit the Youth Advisory Group’s profile

Programme Manager

The programme manager oversees day-to-day operations, finance, and communications.